Fennel-Orange Salad

I have to admit I’ve never before even considered fennel root to be something worth eating. In fact, I didn’t even know it existed, I just thought of fennel as a weed that grew in American Canyon. 🙂 but after having it for the first time over the holidays I consider it an ingredient to brighten any dish from soup to salad. This is my variation on the Fennel Salad that Adrian and I enjoyed while in CA this past December. Norway is deepening my fondness for roots of all sorts. Get prepared for me to start revisiting my “roots.” 😀

Ingredients:

  • 1 large fennel bulb thinly sliced
  • 1 orange peeled, pieced and cut into pieces to expose the flesh
  • 1/4 cup of picked shallots, thinly sliced, drained (recipe to follow)
  • 2 tablespoons of pesto
  • 1 tablespoon of sunflower seeds
  • Salt and pepper
  • Burrata Cheese

Combine all ingredients except the cheese in a bowl and toss. Take a cup and fill the bottom with burrata cheese (possible healthier substitute: cottage cheese), then put a layer of the fennel orange salad on top and serve cold.

Leave a Reply

