Eggless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

First let me apologize that I didn’t take a picture of this. Any of this. So the only picture I am able to put up is an after the fact photo of some happy eggs; Happy they didn’t get eaten. I was so interested in eating the cookie I didn’t even consider documenting the recipe, process or product.

The other night I wanted to make cookies.

I just needed a cookie.

So I start getting all the ingredients out and I didn’t have eggs.

I wasn’t about to walk all the way to store just to indulge my sweet tooth…though as an afterthought perhaps a walk would have been good for me. 🙂

So I went ahead and made cookies without eggs.

A pre-warning for anyone making this cookies, they come out a bit dry, and melt-in-your-mouth-y, like shortbread, so don’t expect an ooey-gooey cookie or a cake like cookie.

Also note, for some reason I can’t find chocolate chips here. Perhaps it’s just my local grocery store which is fairly small because it is in the middle of the city center but… all they sell is chocolate bars so my “chocolate chunks” are me taking 2 chocolate bars and tossing them across the room a couple times to break them up into reasonable pieces. And when that didn’t work to my satisfaction I took a jar and pounded on them a bit before opening the wrapper so all the pieces stayed together.

What you will need:

  • 1 cup of flour (240 mL)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda (Natron, 2.5 mL)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup of unsalted butter, softened at room temp (113 g)
  • 1/4 cup of granulated sugar (60 mL)
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar (60 mL)
  • 2 tablespoons of vanilla kesam (or yogurt) (2.5 mL) (I didn’t have vanilla extract or milk so … you could use 2 tablespoons of milk and a dash of vanilla extract instead.)
  • Chocolate chips – as many as you want. Go chocolately or go home. See note above on Chocolate Chunks vs. Chocolate Chips.
  • Peanut Butter. A spoonfulish. Plus some. Depends on how much peanut butter taste you want. I think I put a heaping tablespoon in, mixed it, then used that as an excuse to taste the dough and decided whether or not to add more. You do the same. 🙂

What to do:

  1. Preheat the oven: 350 degree F or 180 degree C
  2. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or just spray with nonstick spray or get an awesome silicon mat like I have!
  3. Whisk dry ingredients (flour, salt and baking soda) in a bowl then set aside.
  4. Take softened butter in another bowl. Beat it with wire whisk or using an electric mixer until it becomes creamy and smooth. ( I actually used an immersion blender… works just fine.)
  5. Then add both sugars (granulated and brown sugar) to the butter. Again beat till it becomes fluffy (about 2 minutes). (again I used the immersion blender, not the best, but it works).
  6. Then add vanilla yogurt. Whisk till it gets incorporated.
  7. Add dry ingredients. Beat it until incorporated.
  8. Add Peanut butter, taste, add more peanut butter if necessary, taste again. try not to eat all the dough.
  9. Add chocolate chips. And fold them in. Dough should be soft and sticky so chill it in the refrigerator for at least an hour.
  10. Make tablespoon sized balls from chilled cookie dough. Place on the cookie sheet few inches apart from each other, because they will spread as bake.
  11. Bake them for 10-12 minutes in preheated oven or until the edges are become golden brown.
  12. Let it cool on the sheet for 5 minutes. Then move it to the cooling rack to cool completely.
Leave a Reply

